Skip to main content
2008 Hall of Fame InducteeALLHall of FameMale Athletics

1960-61 Baseball Team

By November 1, 2008May 7th, 2021No Comments

1960-61 Baseball Team

Athletic Category – Male 1960 – ’61

Coached by Steve Sluka, this disciplined, fiercely competitive group of ballplayers, (and a little luck) won 52 games in a row—a record that went down in Grand Haven sports history as “the streak.” The team was inducted into the Muskegon Sports Hall of Fame.

Members of the team were:
Jerry Alger, Jack Braak, Ed Brown Jr., Terry Carlson, Robert Bosserdet, Steve Brown, Larry Christianson, Bill Drent, Tom De Witt, Bob Edlund, Nick Fant, Mike Fortino, Paul Fortino, Tim Fuller, Vic Geisler, Chuck Haugen, Rich Hawkins, Terry Hill, Garry Holtzclaw, Larry Kieft, Bob Kent, Dave Osbeck, George Peck, Larry Prelesnik, Jul Scheffers, Mike Secory, John Sluka, David Suchecki, Ron Tipsword, Bob Van Bemmelen, John Van Dyke, Bill Van Horssen, Doug Vander Wall, Terry VanderVeen, Floyd Whelpley, and Roger Wheeler.